Home Maps /Directions Contact
Welcome to the Polk County Attorney Website!
Attorney Main Header
Midland Building
206 6th Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50309
Home dividerMBQuick Links dividerMBAbout the County Attorney dividerMBCriminal dividerMBJuvenile dividerMBCivil dividerMBNews dividerMBFAQ dividerMBLinks dividerMBForms dividerMBContact Us

One hundred seventy-five defendants were prosecuted for Operating While under the Influence (OWI) in Polk County Associate District Courts in the month of October 2013.

One hundred thirty-five of those defendants were prosecuted for OWI First Offense. OWI First Offense is a Serious Misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum sentence of one year in the County Jail and a maximum fine of $1,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum of two days in County Jail and a fine of $1,250, upon conviction. Blood Alcohol levels are shown below in parentheses. DRE indicates that the conviction was based upon use of drugs other than just alcohol. REF means that the defendant refused the chemical test. A deferred judgment (non-conviction) is usually available to those defendants who test below .150 for a OWI First Offense. The State of Iowa has a legislatively set, presumptive level of intoxication of .08.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI First Offense in this reporting period were:

Aaron Taylor, (0.151); Ahmed Musa, (0.129); Alberto Ramirez, (0.135); Alexander Gleason, (0.21); Andrea Altman, (0.096); Andrew Sullivan, (REF); Andrew Turner, (REF); Anthony Forcucci, (0.121); Anthony Leanos, (0.162); Anthony Taylor, (DRE); Aurora Stylo, (0.165); Benjamyn Shafer, (0.112); Bennie Ulin, (0.182); Berto Mendez Garcia, (REF); betty Johns, (0.188); Bobby Childers, (0.14); Brandon Harken, (0.151); Charity Hughes, (DRE/REF); Charles Bickel, (0.12); Chase Mathew, (0.133); Christian Rodgers, (REF); Clarence Handley, (REF); Cody Anderson, (0.119); Corey Le, (0.155); Daniel Wilson, (REF); Dannette Jennings, (0.179); Danny Mao, (REF); Daonnise Waters, (REF); David Lopez, (0.135); David Pettis, (0.17); David Richardson, (REF); Dennis Chapman, (REF); Dennis Giehl, (0.12); Destiney Werner, (REF); Donell Mustin, (0.144); Douglas Purvis, (0.147); Drew McGrath, (0.153); Dustin Allen, (0.146); Edgar Smith Olivas, (REF); Edward Lint, (0.106); Edward Winger, (0.154); Eleasar Vasquez, (0.156); Elizabeth Kritenbrink, (REF); Ella Bailey, (0.114); Elmer Mendez Sanchez, (0.131); Emil Klaric, (DRE); Eric Brown, (REF); Eric Moon, (REF); Erica Schwartz, (0.097); Francis Mackin, (DRE); Gabriel Hicks, (REF); Garold Reeser, (REF); Gerardo Perez, (0.188); Hailey Bassler, (0.128); Hanna Wilson, (REF); Heidy Savage, (0.117); Hugo Montoya Perucho, (0.186); Igor Hadzisulejmanovic, (0.169); Jacob Kristensen, (0.166); Jade Earleywine, (REF); James Cloyed, (REF); James Fagan, (REF); James Gabel, (0.184); James Houseman, (DRE); Jason Clayton, (0.108); Jason Hubbartt, (DRE); Jason Mayer, (0.132); Jason Reasoner, (REF); Jeffrey Davis, (REF); Jeffrey Justice, (REF); Jennifer Espeland, (0.126); Jeon Trabing, (0.202); Jeremy Collier, (0.166); Jesse Webb Mausbach, (0.158); Joel Lopez, (REF); Joel Lopez, (0.12); John Hussein, (DRE); Joseph Kimrey, (0.15); Josue Alvarado Alvarado, (0.126); Justin Brown, (0.161); Justin German, (0.152); Kayla McIntosh, (0.215); Kenneth James, (REF); Kristin Bunting, (0.122); Kyle Howell, (0.138); Lal Ruata, (0.201); Larry Meyer, (0.229); Lauren McKinney, (0.156); Leisha Staples, (0.202); Lonny Anderson, (REF); Lucas Jackson, (0.176); Mark Formaro, (0.222); Mawea Koat, (REF); Michael Dewall, (0.222); Michael Gorski, (0.098); Michele Flynn, (0.15); Michelle Vincent, (REF); Miguel Hernandez, (0.192); Monica Holt, (0.149); Myles Easter, (0.233); Nathan Butts, (REF); Nathan Harms, (0.137); Nathan Nicolino, (0.188); Neftali Montesinos Arroyo, (0.204); Nicholas Hill, (REF); Phillip Smith Olivas, (0.151); Ramond Fuller, (REF); Randy Rivera, (DRE); Richard Galvan, (REF); Richard Lester, (0.15); Robert Ahart, (REF); Roberto Zaragoza, (REF); Rory Nimtz, (0.221); Rudy Depaz Colocho, (0.149); Samuel Nhail, (REF); Santiago Aparicio Sanchez, (REF); Sara Trammel, (0.217); Sarah Shepherd, (REF); Scott Long, (0.144); Sean Krall, (DRE); Shalonda Kidd, (0.132); Shawn Johnson, (0.114); Somphong Reuanthong, (0.202); Stephen Muturi, (0.293); Taylor Bryant, (REF); Temeshia Bomato, (REF); Teresa Sage, (0.122); Toby Richardson, (0.099); Todd Poller, (0.14); Tommy Riley, (0.138); Trevor Catron, (0.155); Tricia Nevitt, (REF); Tyler Lindsey, (DRE); Waleed Alrobei, (0.123); Zawzaw Robert, (0.111).

Of those defendants sentenced for OWI First Offense this report, thirty-one had a test of .160 (twice the legal limit) or greater. The low chemical test among the group was .096 and the high test was .293 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Nine defendants were prosecuted based upon their use of drugs other than just alcohol (denoted by “DRE” above) and forty-one refused chemical testing (denoted by “Ref.” above).

Thirty-one defendants appeared for sentencing for OWI Second Offense. OWI Second Offense is an Aggravated Misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $6,250. The Court MUST impose a minimum of seven days in County Jail and a minimum fine of $1,875 upon conviction of OWI Second Offense.

Those defendants appearing for sentencing for OWI Second Offense in this reporting period were:

Alex Lopez Flores, (REF); Benjamin Robertson, (0.171); Casey Corkrean, (0.268); Charles Toomer, (0.118); Christina Renard, (REF); Cole Laughride, (REF); Dennis Winders, (0.176); Dustin Brown, (0.093); Garrett Adams, (0.111); Garrett Justice, (0.221); Hiram Annis, (REF); Jenna Frost, (0.175); John Burgoyne, (DRE); John Taylor, (REF); Juan Manifacio, (0.101); Kristie Allen, (REF); Mandazesha Cason, (0.158); Mark Wheeler, (0.215); Matthew Ditto, (REF); Matthew Konrad, (REF); Melvin Herrick, (REF); Mitchell Monroe, (0.158); Muamer Ademovic, (0.129); Nicholas Tedder, (REF); Norma Vondra, (0.199); Orville Johnson, (REF); Ramon Scarpino, (REF); Randal Vanwyk, (REF); Ricardo Flores , (0.183); Taryn McFarland, (0.137); Terrance Spurgin, (0.171).

Of those Defendants sentenced for OWI Second Offense who took a chemical test, those tests ranged from a low of .093 to a high of .268 (more than THREE times the legal limit). Thirteen of these defendants refused the chemical test.

There were nine defendants sentenced this reporting period for OWI Third Offense. OWI Third Offense is a Class D felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and by a fine of up to $9,375. The Court MUST sentence a Defendant convicted of OWI third offense to a minimum of thirty days in jail and a minimum fine of $3,125. Sentenced this report:

Dulces Flores Estrada, (0.122); Lance Kruse, (REF); Lisa Ambrozic, (0.112); Melissa Roland, (REF); Michael Slatterly, (REF); Michael Watson, (0.168); Roberto Zaragoza, (REF); Sean Wood, (0.18); Tucker Wentland, (REF).

These cases were prosecuted by attorneys assigned to the Intake and Screening Bureau of Polk County Attorney John Sarcone’s Office. For October of 2013, the attorneys directly responsible for handling this challenging, fast-paced and high volume docket were: Maurice Curry and Jordan Roling.

Top of Page | Attorney Home Page | Polk County Home | Contact Us | Disclaimer
© 2012 Polk County Government